Artist InterviewsInterviews

Marshall Applewhite

It’s always cool meeting up with artists who are from Detroit when we’re in town for the Movement festival. Marshall Applewhite was one of them, and although we didn’t have much time, he talked about how he got into making music and what he’d be doing if not this.

Describe your sound with three words.
Slow, dark, bass.

What was your first exposure to live electronic music?
That was way too long ago. We had a lot of radio DJs back when I was a kid, and I was always staying up late listening.

Say you’re tour guide for a day n Detroit. Where would you take somebody?
We’d start at Slows or Mexicantown, then possibly The Works or TV Lounge.

How did you get into making music?
I grew up in a  musical household. I started playing guitar but didn’t really like working with other people. I’ve been in a couple of bands, but drum machines don’t argue or have opinions so I started doing that a and live music and in about 1996-1997 when I was in high school. Then I got turntables a few years later before graduating and since then, been very focused.

You were just featured on Spin’s list of 10 Detroit techno up-and-coming producers to watch. That’s pretty cool!
I was kind of a surprised. It was mentioned, then I forgot about it and it popped up online.

When did you realize this wasn’t just a hobby?
When I was a kid. This is all I ever wanted to do. I also write pop music with a vocalist n Paris, collabing and writing tracks with her. I get all over anything I can get into.

What do you use to make music?
Ableton, MilkyTracker, VSTs in reactor.

What has been your biggest accomplishment?
Putting my first record out. That was all I ever dreamed.

Is that record still good to you?
Yes, I love it. (Future sounds of 8 mile.)

Is music all you do?
Yes. I spend 10-15 hours a day writing it. I’m also a VJ and do visual work.

What do you use to VJ?
VDMX. I make a lot and sample a lot. It’s very audio-interactive and expressive.

What else would you be doing, if not this?
I’d be homeless, probably. Or an investment banker with my brother. Delivering pizzas. Still in college. I don’t know.